Tournée européenne pour l'AVC et l'aphasie


by Elise et Louis
In short

In August and September 2019, Elise and Louis plan to do a European van tour to talk about stroke and aphasia.

Description


Tour of Europe in 2019 for aphasia and stroke

For about a year now, they have had a project that started from their common desire for discovery and adventure. Yes, but not without purpose. For them, it is a question of testifying to their life accidents, to the existing possibilities of prevention and therapeutic management of these very disabling accidents and to the urgent need to re-educate themselves by using all the current data from neuroscience, even if it is at the cost of immense energy.


Him

He wants to meet with associations of people affected by aphasia and stroke and aphasia. Exchange, dialogue, improve care, rehabilitation, support for carers and victims. In France, where do we stand in relation to our European friends? Isn't Europe not made for exchange and dialogue?


She

As a doctor, his objectives are first prevention and then rehabilitation. His profession is the therapeutic education of his patients first and foremost. So she can and wishes to use what has happened to her to inform and prevent risks, so many and so unknown.
She was fortunate to be cared for in a rehabilitation centre that is unique in France and Europe, which develops neuro-reeducation based on self-reeducation with physiotherapists.

The principles to summarize: self-rehabilitation

  • Pulling a muscle;
  • Active movements to recreate lost neural connections;
  • Stretching sequence at maximum load-active movements of maximum intensity.
This is based on the principle of brain plasticity. She would like to help other motivated people who would be happy to work to try to recover: "who doesn't try anything has nothing". After a stroke, life is not over.

Them

Their ideas therefore complement each other in two ways:
  • One related to communication and exchange of good practices to help people with and without disabilities affected by stroke;
  • Disseminate the principle of self-rehabilitation, which is innovative, promising and yet so little used in France and Europe due to a lack of information.

Journey



They want to travel through France and Europe. What could be better than a van? Yes, a van, a little special because he uses his left arm and she uses his right arm, for the moment. They need to arrange their vehicle: a ball at the wheel with indicators that would be removable depending on the driver. One needs a pedal on the left of the acceleration, also removable. I forgot the van obviously has to have an automatic gearbox.


The objectives of the project

Ten countries visited: France, Belgium, England, Switzerland, Germany, Poland, Spain, Portugal, Italy
8000 km to go

Conferences in Paris, London, Germany, Switzerland, etc.

Meetings in the various European countries to address disability, rehabilitation, employment and Europe


Financial objectives

  • Objective 1: 2000 euros for petrol and video to show the trip, interviews and countries we will visit
  • Objective 2: 3000 euros for food


Subsequent objectives

  • Documentary on Stroke and Travel
They will make a documentary with their own videos and interviews with people and themselves.
  • Book or report of proposals or guide to good practice
They will write a book and a report of the questionnaire proposals. They will have possible improvements in their meeting.
You can put as much as you want even more than 2000 euros



Victim of stroke and aphasia - Rehabilitation - Van trips - Conference - Europe - Disability policy


Owner project

HIM

His name is Louis Gustin. He was 25 years old in 2015 when suddenly he had an ischemic stroke making him aphasic and hemiparetic from one second to the next. And yet, he never lost his courage. For more than three years he fought and still does today. Little by little, he realized that dialogue is man's own. Now that he communicates well, he wants to communicate across Europe about stroke and aphasia, his care in Europe, discuss, meet, exchange.
Fortunately, at the time of the accident, Louis had completed his law studies with a master's degree in European law. He knows Europe. He did one year of Erasmus in Poland, one year at the College of Europe in Warsaw. Following his stroke, since he is not afraid of anything, he did two internships at the European Parliament in Brussels. The first internship, only a year and a half after his stroke, still haunted him. But through hard work and courage, this internship helped him recover as much language and fluency as possible. From aphasic, we can now describe it as bilingual.
He has been a member of France AVC since 2016 and the Fédération Nationale des Aphasiques de France since 2018.
In 2017, it created a website and social networks to disseminate, raise awareness and raise awareness of stroke and all disabilities. He interviewed MEPs, politicians (Sophie Cluzel), entrepreneurs working in the field of disability, personalities and many others.
Website page: www.sadapter.eu


SHE

Her name is Elise Mathy, and suffered an ischemic stroke in 2017 at the age of 27. Unlike him, she did not become aphasic because of the location of her stroke (right brain). On the other hand, the same severe motor sequelae made him hemiparetic on the left. She was hospitalized in wonderful hospitals and centres in Ile de France where she was able to rehabilitate herself with a significant recovery, although still insufficient from her point of view.
At the time of this tragedy, she had not finished her medical studies, which had begun 9 years earlier and had been accomplished brilliantly. However, this stroke did not prevent him, but just delayed him from completing his year of Master 2 research in the field of endocrinology, his medical specialty. In parallel to all this, of course, she is still continuing her rehabilitation in order to recover some motor functions that are essential for her (recovery of the mobility of her left arm). For her, 2019 will be a crucial year because two years after her stroke, which certainly disrupted her life without stopping her, she plans to finish her medical studies.


The two of them

They have a strength, the strength to fight to get what they want most: to get her speech back and she: to get her left upper limb back. She works there every day for several hours. Both are convinced that work pays, they are two real and concrete examples of this. And they will not stop when they are tired but when they have reached their goals.
Comments

    News

Tournée européenne pour l'AVC et l'aphasie


par Elise et Louis
En bref

En août et septembre 2019, Elise et Louis ont comme projet de réaliser une tournée européenne pour parler de l'AVC et de l'aphasie.

Description


Tour d’Europe en 2019 pour l'aphasie et l'AVC

Depuis environ 1 an environ, ils ont un projet qui est parti de leurs envies communes de découverte et d’aventure. Oui mais pas sans but. Il s’agit pour eux de témoigner de leurs accidents de vie, des possibilités existantes de prévention et de prise en charge thérapeutique de ces accidents très invalidants et de l’impérieuse nécessité de se rééduquer en utilisant toutes les données actuelles des neurosciences même si c’est au prix d’une énergie immense.


Lui

Il veut aller à la rencontre d’associations de personnes victimes d’aphasie et d’AVC et d'aphasie. Échanger, dialoguer, améliorer la prise en charge, la rééducation, le soutien aux aidants, aux victimes. En France, où nous situons nous par rapports à nos amis européens ? L’Europe n’est-elle pas faite pour échanger et dialoguer ?



Elle

Etant médecin, ses objectifs visent d’abord la prévention, puis la rééducation. Son métier, c’est l’éducation thérapeutique de ses patients avant tout. Alors elle peut et souhaite se servir de ce qu’y lui est arrivé pour informer, prévenir des risques, si nombreux et si inconnus.

Elle a eu la chance d’être prise en charge dans un centre de rééducation unique en France et en Europe, qui développe avec des kinésithérapeutes la neuro-réeducation basée sur l’auto-rééducation.


Les principes pour résumer : l’auto-rééducation

  • Etirement d’un muscle ;
  • Mouvements actifs pour recréer des connexions neuronales perdues ;
  • Enchaînement d’étirement à charge maximale-mouvements actifs d’intensité maximale.

Ceci est basé sur le principe de la plasticité cérébrale. Elle aimerait aider d’autres personnes motivées qui seraient heureux de travailler pour tenter de récupérer : « qui ne tente rien n’a rien ». Après un AVC la vie n’est pas terminée.


Eux

Leurs idées se complètent donc avec deux facettes :

  • l’un en lien avec la communication et l’échange de bonnes pratiques afin d’aider les personnes en situation de handicap touchés ou non par un AVC.
  • Diffuser le principe du contrat d’auto-rééducation guidé, novateur, prometteur et pourtant si peu utilisé en France et en Europe, par manque d’informations.


Trajet


Ils souhaitent parcourir la France et l’Europe. Quoi de mieux qu’un van ? Oui un van, un peu spécial car lui utilise son bras gauche et elle son bras droit, pour le moment. Il leur faut aménager leur véhicule : une boule au volant avec les clignotants qui serait amovibles en fonction du conducteur. Un a besoin d’une pédale à gauche d’accélération, amovible également. J’oubliais le van doit évidemment posséder une boite automatique.




Les objectifs du projet


8000 km à parcourir

Conférences à Paris, à Londres, en Allemagne, en Suisse, etc.

Rencontres dans les divers pays européens pour parler du handicap, de la rééducation, de l'emploi et de l'Europe


Objectifs financiers

  • Objectif 1 : atteindre 2000 euros pour l'essence et la vidéo pour montrer le voyage, les interviews et les pays que l'on va visiter
  • Objectif 2 : atteindre 3000 euros pour la nourriture


Les objectifs ultérieurs

  • Documentaire sur les AVC et leurs voyages

Ils réaliseront un documentaire avec leurs propres vidéos et des interviews de personnes et d’eux mêmes.

  • Livre ou un rapport de propositions ou un guide de bonnes pratiques

Ils écriront un livre et un rapport de propositions du questionnaire. Ils auront des améliorations possibles de leur rencontre.

Vous pouvez mettre autant que vous voulez même au-delà des 2000 euros


Victime d’AVC et d'aphasie - Rééducation - Voyages en van - Conférence - Europe - Politique du handicap

www.sadapter.eu

Facebook : S'adapter

Porteurs du projet

LUI

Il s’appelle Louis Gustin. Il avait 24 ans en 2015 lorsque subitement il a eu un AVC ischémique le rendant d’une seconde à l’autre aphasique et hémiparétique droit. Et pourtant, il n’a jamais perdu courage. Pendant plus de trois ans il s’est battu et ça dure encore aujourd’hui. Peu à peu, il a réalisé que le dialogue est le propre de l’homme. Maintenant qu’il communique bien, il veut communiquer à travers l’Europe au sujet de l’AVC et de l'aphasie, sa prise en charge en Europe, discuter, rencontrer, échanger.

Heureusement au moment de l’accident, Louis avait terminé ses études de droit avec un master en droit européen à la clé. L’Europe, il connaît. Il a fait un an d’Erasmus en Pologne, un an au collège d’Europe de Varsovie. Suite à son AVC, vu que rien ne lui fait peur, il a fait deux stages au Parlement Européen à Bruxelles. Le premier stage, un an et demi seulement après son AVC, l’aphasie le hantait encore. Mais à force de travail et de courage, ce stage l’a aidé à récupérer un maximum de langage et de fluence verbale. D’aphasique, nous pouvons désormais le qualifier de bilingue.

Il est membre de France AVC depuis 2016 et Fédération Nationale des Aphasiques de France depuis 2018.

En 2017, il a créé un site internet et des réseaux sociaux pour diffuser, sensibiliser et faire connaître l’AVC et également tous les handicaps. Il a interviewé des députés européens, des personnalités politiques (Sophie Cluzel), des créateurs d’entreprises en lien avec le handicap, des personnalités et bien d’autres.

Page du site internet : www.sadapter.eu

ELLE

Elle s’appelle Elise Mathy, et a subi un AVC ischémique en 2017, à l’age de 27 ans. Contrairement à lui, elle n’est pas devenue aphasique étant donnée la localisation de son AVC (cerveau droit). En revanche, les mêmes lourdes séquelles motrices l’ont rendu hémiparétique à gauche. Elle a été hospitalisée dans des hôpitaux et centres d’Ile de France formidables où elle a pu se rééduquer avec une récupération importante, bien qu’encore insuffisante de son point de vue.

Lors de ce drame, elle n’avait pas terminé ses études de médecine, commencées 9 années auparavant et accomplies brillamment. Pour autant, cet AVC ne l’a pas empêché, mais juste retardé, de terminer son année de master 2 recherche dans le domaine de l’endocrinologie, sa spécialité médicale. Parallèlement à tout cela, évidemment, elle continue encore la rééducation afin de récupérer encore des fonctions motrices qui sont essentielles pour elle (récupération de la mobilité de bras gauche). Pour elle 2019 sera donc une année cruciale car deux ans après son AVC, qui a certes bien bousculé sa vie sans toutefois l’arrêter, elle compte terminer ses études médicales.

Eux deux

Ils ont une force, la force de se battre pour avoir ce qu’ils désirent le plus : lui récupérer la parole et elle : récupérer son membre supérieur gauche. Elle y travaille chaque jour durant plusieurs heures. Tous deux sont convaincus que le travail paie, ils en sont deux exemples réels et concrets. Et ils ne s’arrêteront pas quand ils seront fatigués mais quand ils auront atteint leurs objectifs.

Commentaires

  • Sandrine Quenouille

    cette petite participation de la part de Claude mon mari qui vous connaît bien et vous apprécie Élise pour votre joie de vivre et votre motivation bravo et cette fois ci l argent précédemment utiliser dans les cigarettes ne partira pas en fumée mais sera utile Claude en est ravi bon voyage

  • Sandrine Quenouille

    cette petite participation de la part de Claude mon mari qui vous connaît bien et vous apprécie Élise pour votre joie de vivre et votre motivation bravo et cette fois ci l argent précédemment utiliser dans les cigarettes ne partira pas en fumée mais sera utile Claude en est ravi bon voyage

Actualités